Doña Ana Community College DACC Home Click Here for NMSU

MyNMSU • Canvas • Phone Directory • Intranet • Outlook Web Access

Search with Bing™

Arts and Humanities Department

Dave Burleson, Chair

575.527.7517

dburleso@nmsu.edu

Rita Jo Sosa-Carver, Advising Specialist

Available to students in the General Studies Division who are pursuing an Associate of Arts or Associate or Science degree with the intention of transferring to a four year institution. The courses, "New Mexico Common Core" are general education requirements designed to help the student transfer and use the general education core requirements to meet their first two year requirements at any New Mexico four year institution.

575.5278.7243

rsosa@nmsu.edu

Donna Medina, Administrative Assistant Intermediate

575.527.7611

gmedina@nmsu.edu

Faculty

David Burleson, History and Government

 575.527.7517

dburleson@dacc.nmsu.edu

Layle Chambers, Theatre Arts

Layle is a teaching/artist who holds a BFA and MA in Theatre from Ithaca College and University of Texas at El Paso. As former artistic director of Outrageous Fortune Theatre Company, she has performed for young audiences in throughout the region, and shares her passion for theatre with the students of DACC as full time Theatre Arts faculty, embracing a mission that serves the students and community of Las Cruces.

575.528.7048

chmbrs@nmsu.edu     www.facebook/DACC Theatre Arts Club

Anthony Craig Gordon, Psychology

Anthony Craig Gordon is an Assistant Professor of psychology. Craig chairs the faculty ethics committee, serves as vice-chair of the diversity caucus and is president-elect of faculty council. Craig's classes are busy and his exams are intense, but he works hard to help students achieve success and his classes are tons of fun! Many, many students at the Central, Gadsden and Sunland Park campuses have been Craig's students; as of Fall 2011, Craig also conducts classes at East Mesa Campus.

575.528.7015

teachpsy@nmsu.edu

Doug Layer, Sociology

Mr. Layer earned a Masters degree in Comparative Sociology from Florida International University in 2000, and a Masters degree in Counseling and Educational Psychology from New Mexico State University in 2009. Mr. Layer is an alumnus of Broward Community College in Fort Lauderdale, FL. He believes in teaching more than textbook sociology. Rather, he uses the classroom as a sociological laboratory.

575.528.7224

dougl@nmsu.edu

Glenn Schwaiger, Art

 575.527.7752

gschwaiger@nmsu.edu    www.facebook.com/agavearts

Mayra Valadez, Philosophy

Mayra Valadez received her BA in Philosophy and English from NMSU and her MA and PhD in Philosophy from Arizona State University. She is especially interested in the areas of ethics and moral psychology. Mayra is a firm believer that the study of philosophy, far from being about merely abstract and theoretical questions, can make a profound and positive contribution to an individual's perspectives of the self, the world, and every day life.

575.528.7238

mvaladez@dacc.nmsu.edu     www.facebook/DACC-Philosophy

Dr. Olga Viramontes, Spanish

 575.527.7714

OViramontes@nmsu.edu

Dr. Paul Vonnahme, Psychology

575.528.7054

PVonnahme@nmsu.edu

Heather Williams, Sociology

575.582.7025

hwilliams@nmsu.edu